Back in Business!

Somehow I didn’t get back on the blogging bandwagon once my time off from running concluded and I resumed training seven weeks ago. I suppose that the arrival of the new year is as good a time as any to re-initiate the blog and update everyone on the latest news from base training and preparation for the upcoming Olympic year.

After Pan Ams I took a short break from running. It had been over a year since I’d had more than a few days off during brief in-season breaks, so I knew it was time to give my body a chance to recuperate. In the weeks since then I have steadily built training and I am feeling fit and fully back in the swing of things. I have also used these weeks to be a little more relaxed in my routines and have some fun between training.

Highlights from the past month include a trip to Seattle for a weekend in December to visit friends, the USTFCCCA national coaches convention in San Antonio, and more recently a week spent at home in Santa Rosa over Christmas. The weekend in Seattle coincided with the USATF Club Championships, and I enjoyed being able to catch up with friends from across the country who had come to race. While I admit it was a little hard to watch the race and not be a part of it, it was fun to watch Brie Felnagle win on home turf, as she was one of the primary people I had come to Seattle to spend time with. She was also a good sport about getting up the morning after the race to accompany me on the first half of a sixteen-mile run on the Cedar River Trail. I loved exploring the trails and putting in some great running efforts in that area of Washington and connecting with other runners for a few days.

The day after returning from the Pacific Northwest, the entire UC Davis XC/Track & Field staff had an early morning departure for San Antonio, where the national coaches convention was held at the JW Marriott Hill Country. Although one of my favorite aspects of the resort is the chance to run on the rolling golf courses there, it was also great to take in the coaching symposiums, see the Bowerman Award presented, and hang out with college coaches. I may be biased, but I thought that Scott Abbott, from Sac State, stole the show with his presentation on middle-distance running on the first day. On our first night there Lea Wallace drove over from Austin and it was great to catch up with her for the first time since her move to Texas. I returned from San Antonio well-fed and with my head full of training ideas and excited about coaching and training.

Christmas in Santa Rosa provided some time to unplug and relax. I mostly spent time with family, but was also able to connect with several friends from my high school cross country days. We try to make a point to get together every Christmas, but it seems harder every year to get everyone in town on the same day. I was able to meet my HS coach, Val Sell, at the start of training runs in Annadel State Park, and she is currently hard at work prepping for the Carlsbad 5k in April.

Now I am back in Sacramento and looking forward to the New Year. My plans are to go to bed early on New Year’s eve before knocking out a solid long run on Sunday morning. It’s a fitting plan to ring in 2012, as it is an Olympic year, and the next six months will be entirely dedicated to becoming the most-prepared athlete I can when I toe the line at the Trials in Eugene. The plan for this winter is to race 3000m indoors, and my coach and I are currently in the process of planning an altitude camp for the month of March before opening the outdoor season.

Patience may not be my strongest suit, but I am excited to race indoors, return to San Luis PotosĂ­, and then prepare to race fast over 5000 and 10,000m in the spring.

About kimconley

Professional runner and Cross Country and track coach at UC Davis.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for the pop! Too kind!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

