Pieces of the Puzzle

This week marks the third week that I have enjoyed the freedom to focus more on my own running without the pressure to spend too many hours in the office working behind the scenes as a coach. I still enjoy going to practice and picking my office hours more selectively, but I have also been able to dedicate more time to the aspects of being an athlete that extend beyond merely training.

In my last blog I mentioned the Sacramento Running Association and the great financial support they are giving me as part of their new elite team. In addition to funding a handful of athletes, SRA is also partnering with companies in the Sacramento area to help provide elite runners with necssary tools for success. So far, the most important component for me has been the relationship with Dr. Justin Lau at Elite Spinal and Sports Care. I have been working with Dr. Lau every other week for four months now, and we have developed a routine for general body maintence to keep me healthy and training at a high level. Based on the anecdotal evidence so far, this strategy it is paying off. My training has been completely uninterrupted since starting back after a break in November, and the quality of everything I do, from normal daily runs, to workouts, to long runs far surpasses the type of training I was doing six months ago, let alone last year at this time. The sessions with Dr Lau aren’t always enjoyable; in fact they can be very painful, and sometimes that’s hard to wrap my head around when I’m not even injured. But, as Dr. Lau likes to say, it’s important to “troubleshoot” for any tightness or weakness that may lead to a problem down the road so that we can avoid setbacks and continue to build consistency.

In addition to Dr. Lau, SRA just announced our latest partnership,  U.S. Cryotherapy. U.S. Cryotherapy is a facility in Roseville, CA that offers cold therapy treatment for the purpose of recovery and injury treatment. They offer cold chambers for total body recovery and localized treatments for specific injuries. Next week the SRA team is going to meet with the manager to tour the facility and learn more about the amenities offered there. I’m looking forward to finding ways to incorporate this new aspect of recovery into my training.

The SRA elite team is in it’s early stages but I am very excited about the support they are offering to athletes in the area and look forward to helping the team grow. I’ll be proud to put on our uniform for the first time on February 11th when I race the 3k at the Husky Classic in Seattle. As all athletes know, but sometimes forget to mention, it truly takes a team of support to get an athlete to the line, fully prepared when the gun goes off. Over the past two and a half years, since leaving the college setting, I have grown more acutely aware of the need to adopt a active approach with regard to all forms of recovery and rejuvenation in order to run my best every day and on race day. I consider myself fortunate to have superb resources and support in my path as a professional runner and look forward to representing Sacramento Running Association as I reap the rewards of the hard work that so many have invested on my behalf.

About kimconley

Professional runner and Cross Country and track coach at UC Davis.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Life is cruel. I’m finally athletically eligible to join an elite team but I’m also for the first time in my life actually making money at my job that negates my ability to gain assistance. Argh! Congrats on the sponsors, and kick some ass this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

